Private Chefs Maui logo

Private Chefs Maui logo

Guest Book Reviews


Guest Book Reviews

Write your own review on Yelp! or Google+


We had Chef Galvan and his team prepare and serve us (and 2 friends) a “tasting menu” style dinner for our Wedding Anniversary on December 5, 2013. What a wonderful experience! They were so professional and yet down to earth and humble at the same time. The food was simply delicious! We gave Chef Galvan some basic likes and dislikes (our tastes in food) and he absolutely got everything right! The timing of the food course service was excellent and he also paired our courses with some great wines! It really made our Anniversary a special day…one to always remember. I would absolutely recommend Chef Galvan to anyone who inquired!!

Erin & Roger, January 2014

Working with a very high-end clientele at Ho’olei at Grand Wailea where clients pay $1600- $4000 a night to stay, Chef John is our choice for our clientele here and his enthusiasm and unbelievable cooking talents are impeccably matched with his warm and aloha personality. Flawlessly executing unique and memorable dinners for the past 5 years here at Ho’olei, our staff is incredibly confident that Chef John WILL be the highlight of your trip! Reserve Early!

Danny Rostetter, January 2014

John and his chefs are THE Best! Not only did they prepare us five wonderful meals, they made us feel so at home. Their attention to detail was amazing and the food was out of this world! Thank you, Private Chefs Maui! Merry Christmas from me and Drenna.

Dwight Strickland, December 2013

Chef John is a cooking rock star! He and Nick created the best birthday dinner ever…I asked John to cook a fabulous fish dinner and he did exactly what was requested…if you are looking for a terrific chef he is your man!

Kristi Arnold, October 2013


We live on Lana’i, and just had the pleasure of having Chef John wow our party of 4 with an out of this world meal. I like to cook, but food like that has never left my kitchen before! From Roasted Pear Salad to Seared Scallops to Lobster Curry Bisque to Filet and Lana’i Lobster–the food was perfection on a plate. And as an added bonus, Ed Mikesh of Wailea Wine paired some fantastic bottles that complemented John’s food to a T. I can’t recommend Chef John any more highly–he’s personable and a real pro. And I’m fairly certain that our kitchen was even cleaner when he left. 🙂 Thanks John–hope to have you back on Lana’i soon!

Mike Carroll, September 2013

We had John cook for us on our last night of a large family celebration. What an incredible treat! The food was so fresh and delicious. John and staff were courteous, timely and personable. It’s true…they also do the dishes. What I didn’t realize is that having an in-house meal was really relaxing. No need to worry about parking, designated drivers, etc. And when the kids are done eating, they can run around and play while the adults linger. We can’t wait for our next trip to Maui so that we can have some more of that great ahi bruschetta. Thank you again, John, for helping to make wonderful family memories!

Karin Cesario, April 2013

We celebrated our parents 40th anniversary in Maui and Chef John brought an elegance to the evening that made it just perfect. His friendly personality and knowledge of food made him extremely easy to work with. We decided to have a drop off meal the first night we arrived and the entire group (all 10 of us – including 4 kids) loved his selection, quality, and unique touches. The price was reasonable given the high prices of Maui restaurants and the best part was that we had a fabulous meal in the comfort of our own home. The main event on March 10th was splendid. He had a friendly assistant to help serve while he prepared our meal. He used fresh organic local ingredients which was important to us. He even accommodated the gluten allergy we have an issue with. I gave John the freedom to let his talents shine by not limiting him to specific dishes. We were more than impressed and every detail was looked after from appetizers, cute plates and forks, chilled glasses, amazing food right down to the dessert to cleaning the kitchen at the end of the evening. By the end of the night the kids were hugging John and asking when he would come back. We would highly recommend his drop off and in house services with no hesitation and would certainly have him join us again when we return to Maui.

Barbara, March 2013

We spent two weeks in Maui and had the pleasure of John and his staff prepare 7 meals for our large family. We have seven children ranging in age of 12-1 year olds and one dairy/egg allergy. He made sure that we ended each meal fatter and happier than when he entered our doors. As fantastic as Maui is, the highlight just might have been our nightly dinner parties. The food was out of this world and each night, he left leftovers enough to feed us lunch the next day. Our final night we had a “greatest hits” meal that included each of the dishes we each loved the most. Complete foodie dream come true + he and his staff are just delightful, fun, and welcomed our 4000 questions as they just tried to feed us. Next best part? The kitchen was spotless when they left. I wouldn’t consider being in Maui and not having John cook for us again. Best.Money.Spent.

Zoe Campbell, August 2012


We have used Chef John for several years now — every time we come to Maui we hire him to do dinners for our group of 10 or 12. We love him! His food is amazing, he is super professional but also very friendly and fun to have around. I love that he uses the freshest fish and lots of local produce. Highly recommend!

Courtney, August 2012

We visit Maui every summer with our friends. Each year we enlist John to cook a few meals for our group…and every single time it’s a huge hit. This past year was no exception. Fresh ingredients all prepared perfectly. It’s not easy to please 10 adults and each time we leaves the table fully satisfied and raving about the meal. Not only is John a great chef but he and his staff are absolute pros. I highly recommend his services and look forward to having him cook for us again in the future. Thank you, John!!

Carol J, August 2012

One of the highlights of our annual trip to Maui is enjoying Chef John’s culinary skills in the comfort of our home. Chef John has amazed us with his creations and has easily accommodated our son’s food allergies in his preparations. We give John basic guidelines for dinner and then let the local fresh fish, produce and fruit selections dictate what he’ll be serving. It is always a taste sensation! Do yourself a favor and have Chef John prepare dinner for you.

Janelle and Joe Tanner, July 2012

John is: 1) adorable 2) personable 3) talented 4) professional His food is always top-notch, and I feel like he really puts a lot of thought and passion behind every dish he makes. On top of the fantastic food, he does all the dishes! This man is one in a million.

Kara, July 2012


Chef John prepared multiple meals for our family during our recent Maui vacation! We loved the option of getting a prepped meal that we could cook on our own! We were very impressed with his level of professionalism and talent of cooking! Thank you John!

Vicki I, February 2012

We had the pleasure of chef John cook for us during our recent vacation to Maui. Our dinner was amazing! The food was fresh and delicious. I enjoyed chatting with John and learning some of his techniques. John and his assistant were pleasant, professional and created a wonderful meal for our group! The Hawaiian/Greek Fusion Salad was a total hit, as was the fresh fish selections and the ahi bruschetta! We hope to see you again next year!

Lindsay Corwin, February 2012

We had the most wonderful Maui vacation and a highlight was our Chef John Galvan. It was a special birthday dinner for our Son-in-law and the experience could not have been more wonderful. John is charming with fabulous menu’s and and his presentation was wonderful. He was so nice to our Grandkids he kept a running dialog with our grandson most of the evening. Thanks John!

Annette, January 2012

this write up is long over due! we have been using chef John for over 5 years and the food and presentation only gets better!!! love the new drop off menu options!! truly gifted in great cuisine! many thanks for all the yummy meals we have had.

Kenneth Hawkins, January 2012


We had the pleasure of having chef John cook for us on Christmas eve this year. I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I’ve ever had. The ahi bruschetta was my favorite part of the meal- it was delicious. Thank you for making our dinner so special!!!

Mandy, January 2012

We recently came to Maui for a family reunion and the thought of dragging kids to dinner each night was frightening (not to mention stressful). Plus, spending each day cooking on vacation was not my idea of fun or relaxing. Enter the solution… chef John Galvin! Let me start by saying, we are a PICKY, CRITICAL bunch that like good quality food (we consider ourselves foodies), love healthy cooking and top quality ingredients. I’ve used several personal chefs in the past and John is by far the “All Star”. He not only gets how to communicate with a customer, but he delivers above and beyond expectations. The understands food preparation, freshness of ingredients and portion size and most importantly, his food is delicious! If you are planning a trip, don’t waste your money on the disappointing restaurants in town that are overpriced! Or spending hundreds at Costco to quickly learn you don’t have any basic condiments to cook with in your villa! Work with John and get 10x the value and taste. You will not be disappointed!

Lee Lazarus, November 2011

We visit Maui once a year, and after trying out a few different chefs for our parties of ~10, John Galvan is our #1 choice. His ingredients and fish are incredibly fresh, his preprarations are clean, local, and flavorful, and this past trip the Monchong was amazing! Thanks John!

David, September 2011